Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Millet Pie Crust


Rate Millet Pie Crust

2 starsAvg. rating: 2 from 2 votes.
  

 Recipe Information  
Category: Pies
Recipe Created By: Karen Farr


Millet Pie Crust

 

 Ingredients  
1/2 cup safe margarine or shortening
1 - 2 Tbsp water
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 cup millet flour
1/4 cup potato starch
2 Tbsp tapioca starch
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp xanthan gum


 Directions  
Sift together dry ingredients. Cut in shortening. Mix water and vinegar together, and stir in 1 Tbsp of this, squishing with back of a large spoon, until it all holds together. Dribble more mixture as needed for it to hold together. Should not be sticky. Don't handle too much. Roll out on floured (with potato/millet blend) wax paper to 1/8 - 1/4 inch thickness. Lift into pie pan. Gently place in pan and do not stretch the dough. Bake as usual in regular pie crust recipes.


 Notes  
Tastes and looks like wheat crust. I use this recipe for apple dumplings too.



 Substitutions  
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame


 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment