Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Soft Sugar Cookies

Rate Soft Sugar Cookies

3 starsAvg. rating: 3 from 15 votes.

 Recipe Information  
Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Laurie Carson

Soft Sugar Cookies


1 cup margarine
2 cups sugar
1 Tbsp vanilla
2 eggs, beaten, or equivalent replacement
5 cups flour (divided)
1 cup buttermilk or dairy-free milk alternative, soured with 1 tsp vinegar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Mix together margarine, sugar and vanilla. Add beaten eggs. Alternately add the buttermilk, 2 1/2 cups flour, baking soda and baking powder. Stir in additional 2 1/2 cups flour.

Chill well.

Roll out on a floured surface and cut out. Sprinkle tops with sugar (or colored sugar, sprinkles, etc).

Bake at 350 °F for 8-10 min depending on size.


Ener-G egg replacer works in place of beaten eggs to make egg-free but is not corn-free.

For buttermilk, can use 1 tsp vinegar to 1 cup milk substitute. Either rice or soy will work, but soy is a bit richer tasting.

If you do not have a milk allergy, you can use butter instead of milk-free margarine.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (2) -

What includes wheat and gluten in this recipe? Is it the flour? If yes, then can I use oat flour?

Kathy P - KFA Admin 12/18/2016 12:05:37 PM

Yes, the flour would be wheat/gluten. When substituting flour, it's best to use a combination of a heavier flour (like rice, oat, etc) and lighter starches (cornstarch, potato starch, tapioca starch). This oat flour based Hamentaschen recipe might work for you - You can roll it out and cut into shapes instead of filling with jam.

Add comment