Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Jell Worms

Rate Jell Worms

2 starsAvg. rating: 2 from 1 votes.

 Recipe Information  
Category: Candy
Recipe Created By: Cristi Schwamb

Jell Worms


1 6 oz pkg raspberry flavored gelatin dessert mix
3 envelopes plain gelatin
3 cups boiling water
3/4 cup coconut milk
a few drops green food coloring
80-100 drinking straws

The drinking straws with the bendy top make realistic worm ridges. If using them, extend the straws to the full length.

Gather drinking straws and place in a tall container. I used a large cup, but an empty quart or half-gallon juice carton would work well too.

Empty flavored and plain gelatin into a large bowl. Add boiling water. Stir several minutes, until fully dissolved. Let cool slightly (approx 15-20 minutes).

Add a few drops of green food coloring to the coconut milk to make it light green. Add coconut milk mixture to cooled gelatin mixture.

Fill drinking straws and container. Let cool in refrigerator for at least 8 hours.

Working with one straw at a time, squeeze from the top and move your fingers down the length of the straw to push the worm onto a plate.

Keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

The green food coloring gave the worms a more realistic brownish-red color.

I used coconut milk, but I think any alternative milk would work. The milk makes the worms appear more opaque and worm-like.

If avoiding corn, use a Kosher for Passover gelatin dessert mix or any other that does not contain corn in the flavorings.

It is unknown if this will mixture will set up well enough with all-vegetarian gelatin (agar agar).

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment