Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Gluten-Free Thin Mints

Rate Gluten-Free Thin Mints

4 starsAvg. rating: 4 from 63 votes.

 Recipe Information  
Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Sarathomps


1 1/4 cup gluten-free flour blend (see below)
1/4 cup regular unsweetened cocoa
1/4 cup special dark cocoa
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp butter, margarine, or spectrum, softened
3 Tbsp applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
2 tsp egg replacer
2 Tbsp water

Preheat oven to 350 ° F.

Combine flours, cocoas, xanthan gum and baking soda in a small bowl and stir with a whisk.

Combine brown sugar, butter, applesauce, vanilla extract and peppermint extract in a medium bowl and beat with a mixer at high speed for 2 minutes.

Whisk egg replacer and water together and then add to sugar mixture. Beat. Add flour mixture and beat low until well blended.

Using a small cookie scoop (1 1/2 tsp) scoop out dough onto a cookie sheet, leaving an inch in between.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until looks dry. Don't over bake. You want them chewy. Let cool on a cookie sheet for a few minutes then remove and cool completely on a wire rack.

Alternatively, to make more of a traditional thin mint style cookie:

Spread dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray. Roll up the sheet until the dough is in 6 inch log shape. Coat hands with cooking spray and coax it if needed. Freeze for about an hour. Take out and immediately cut into thin slices with a sharp knife. Place on cookie sheet and inch apart and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove and cool on wired racks.


I use a flour blend of:

3/4 cup superfine brown rice flour
1/4 cup potato starch
1/4 cup tapioca starch

You can also just use 1/2 cup of regular cocoa. I just like the dark chocolate flavor.

You may prefer to use less peppermint extract. I think especially if you use all regular cocoa you may need to reduce to 1/4 tsp. I like the combination of dark cocoa and minty flavor.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment