Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ™ Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Caramel Rice Crispy Balls


Rate Caramel Rice Crispy Balls

  

 Recipe Information  
Category: Snacks
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


 

 Ingredients  
6 cups crisped rice cereal
1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
1/4 cup honey
1 Tbsp safe margarine
4 inch lollypop sticks
plastic wrap


 Directions  
Grease jelly roll pan lightly with margarine, and set aside.

Lightly grease large bowl with margarine.

Gather candy thermometer, 20 4" lollypop sticks, and squares of plastic wrap.



Measure cereal into greased bowl. Melt margarine in a 2-3 quart saucepan. Swirl it around to coat bottom and sides. Add honey and molasses. If you oil the measuring cup, it will slide right out. Mix well and bring to a boil.



Simmer over low heat until it registers 290 °F or just below hard crack stage. This should be about 10 minutes. Working quickly, pour hot syrup over cereal and mix thoroughly to combine making sure all cereal is coated evenly. Pour mixture out onto jelly roll pan and allow to cool slightly.



When cool enough to handle and stick together, start making small balls just larger than a golf ball. Press together firmly and insert a lollypop stick. Place on waxed paper until all are completed.



If the mixture doesn't stick together, wait until it cools a little bit more. If it gets too cold to stick together, the tray can be placed in a 200 °F oven for a minute or two to soften and become workable. Don't do this more than twice or it will dry out too much. Wrap individual caramel balls in small squares of plastic wrap.


 Notes  
These made great send home treats for school since they were individually wrapped.


 Substitutions  
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame


 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen.  You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes.  If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment