Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Millet Tabouleh


Rate Millet Tabouleh

2 starsAvg. rating: 2 from 4 votes.
  

 Recipe Information  
Category: Side Dishes
Recipe Created By: Kathy P


Millet Tabouleh

 

 Ingredients  
1 cup whole grain millet
1 3/4 cups water or stock (chicken or vegetable)
1 Tbsp olive oil, butter, or margarine
3 med tomatoes, finely diced
1 med cucumber, finely diced
1/2 bunch parsley, minced
2 lg lemons, juiced
1/4 cup olive oil
to taste salt and pepper


 Directions  
Cook millet according to above directions. When done steaming, drizzle on a little more olive oil and allow to cool. I stir it occasionally to help the process go faster.

Meanwhile, dice the veggies and mince the parsley. Toss all of that in a large mixing bowl along with the lemon juice, olive oil, and S&P. Go easy on the salt for now.

Once the millet is mostly cooled, add it to the marinating veggies. Toss to combine. If it's too dry, add a little more oil. Taste and adjust for S&P.

That's it! This makes a great side dish and will keep in the fridge for several days. I usually like to make this at least an hour before serving so the flavors can meld. Bring to room temperature for serving to bring out the flavors.


 Notes  
For a nuttier flavor to your millet, toast your grains in a dry pan over medium heat just til you can start to smell it. Pour that into a fine mesh sieve and rinse with cold water. Drain well and cook as directed.


 Substitutions  
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame


 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment