Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ™ Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Berry Berry Ice Cream Pie


Rate Berry Berry Ice Cream Pie

  

 Recipe Information  
Category: Desserts
Recipe Created By: Amy Hugon

Berry Berry Ice Cream Pie

 

 Ingredients  
1 10 oz pkg frozen blueberries
1 Tbsp cornstarch or sweet rice flour
1 14 oz can coconut milk
1 12 oz pkg Tofutti® Better Than Sour Cream
1/2 cup lemon juice
1 cup sugar
fresh blueberries for garnish (optional)


 Directions  
In a saucepan, stir together the blueberries and the cornstarch or sweet rice flour. Heat on medium heat, stirring so it doesn't stick. This will thicken a bit, and the starch will no longer show. Set aside to cool.

Separately, in a large bowl mix the coconut milk, lemon juice, and sugar. When this is blended, whisk in the soy sour cream. Whisk thoroughly, but don't worry if there are still some lumps.

In a glass pie pan, pour half of the coconut milk mixture. Drop half the berry mixture over it. Repeat layers.

Place pie in the freezer for two hours.

Optional: garnish slices with fresh blueberries.


 Notes  
Recipe Showdown Fundraiser 2008

The tang of the lemon and the sweetness of the blueberry are a nice, cool contrast. I love ice cream, and am always looking for options for dairy-free cold treats!


 Substitutions  
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame


 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen.  You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes.  If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment