Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Rate Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

3 starsAvg. rating: 3 from 79 votes.

 Recipe Information  
Category: Candy
# of Servings: 52
Recipe Created By: Karen Farr

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles


1 cup margarine
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups flour (see below for gluten-free option)
1 12 oz pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
2-3 Tbsp water (optional)
1 6 oz pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tbsp bakers paraffin wax (optional)

In a large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until fluffy. Add vanilla and mix well. Mix in flour and salt until well blended. Batter will be stiff. Stir in chocolate chips. Only add water if it's too stiff to mix, and use sparingly. Form dough into 1" balls and refrigerate for at least an hour.

In a double boiler, melt the chocolate chips and paraffin together. Using two spoons, roll the chilled dough balls into the melted chocolate and place in truffle cups. Makes about 52 pieces. Delicious!


If milk is safe for your family, you can use butter in this recipe.

Note from Karen: I have not tried this recipe gluten/wheat free. I would try these with a sorghum and starch blend to make them gluten-free. You'd want to pick a flour that tastes good raw and doesn't have much grit.

For those who can eat wheat (and gluten): This recipe does work with spelt flour, but increase the flour to 2 1/2 cups and no extra water is needed. If you don't have white spelt, sift the whole grain spelt several times to get most of the bran out.

Mariah created a Gluten-Free Flour Blend:

1 c sorghum flour

2/3 c tapioca starch

1/3 c plus 2 Tbsp coconut flour (you could use superfine rice flour or just more sorghum flour instead of any coconut flour)

Omit the water and paraffin from Karen's recipe above, then follow the rest of the recipe.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen. You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes. If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (8) -

These looks delicious, but the recipe claims to be dairy-free and yet contains chocolate chips. Chocolate chips have milk in them. Please be more careful of this kind of false advertising. Allergies can be a very serious thing.

Kathy P - KFA Admin 7/9/2015 10:05:34 AM

Hi Amy - thanks for your concern regarding milk in chocolate.  It is true that many brands of chocolate chips do have milk (and soy) in them and even most dark chocolate that don't have any milk listed on the label can contain traces -  But there are brands such as Enjoy Life Foods ( and Pascha ( that are truly milk free.

Semi-sweet chocolate chips are not safe for dairy allergies and neither are most margarines.

Kathy P - KFA Admin 9/8/2015 8:48:35 AM

Hi Erica - you are correct that many chocolate chips and margarines do contain milk.  There are brands that don't.  See my comment above regarding brands of chocolate.

As for margarine, there are several brands that are safe for dairy allergies.  Earth Balance has several varieties, including one that is free of soy as well.  Nucoa makes a dairy free margarine available in sticks and tubs.  There are several brands of Kosher margarine too.  There is a new formulation of Melt that does not contain any dairy or soy -

Thank you so much. You not only gave me a recipe that I can try but, included options for the different butter, flour and the chocolate chips. Do to a bunch of severe allergies this means a lot. Thanks Smile

Thanks for clarifying the ingredients for people, Kathy. When making dairy and soy-free, I use Kosher for Passover Margarine and Enjoy Life Foods Chocolate chips.

Kathy P - KFA Admin 12/2/2015 7:12:12 PM

Minnta - glad you are finding options!

Karen - thanks for those additional options.  Nice to see you!

Giradelli Semi sweet Chocolate chips are the best and are dairy free!

Add comment