Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ™ Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Gluten-Free Pizza Crust


Rate Gluten-Free Pizza Crust

5 starsAvg. rating: 5 from 3 votes.
  

 Recipe Information  
Category: Breads
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


 

 Ingredients  
1 1/2 cups Gluten-Free French Bread Mix (see below)
1 pkg yeast
1 Tbsp dry milk powder or dairy-free substitute
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp calcium ascorbate (optional)
1 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer, mixed with 3 Tbsp water
1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp vinegar
1/2 cup warm water


 Directions  
Combine dry ingredients, except yeast, in bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle blade.

Proof yeast using 1/4 cup warm water and 1/2 tsp from dry ingredients. When foamy, add to dry ingredients.

Whisk together egg replacer and water. Add oil and vinegar and whisk again. Add to dry ingredients and blend.

Add remaining water 1 Tbsp at a time until the dough is stiff, but not forming a ball on the beater. Beat on high about 3 minutes. The dough will be sticky. Scrape dough together with oiled bowl scraper.

Lightly oil large baking sheet and dust with brown rice flour. Using well oiled hands, pat out dough into large rectangle. Add more oil as needed. I used an oil sprayer here. The dough should be thin, but be careful to patch any holes. Leave a slightly raised edge to hold the toppings. Let rest about 30 minutes.

Add sauce and toppings gently and bake in preheated 400 °F oven for approximately 20 minutes or until golden brown.

I gently loosen the pizza using a large thin spatula after about 20 minutes and put it directly onto the heated pizza stone for the remainder of the cooking time.


 Notes  
This recipes uses Gluten-Free French Bread Mix.

Copyright © 2006 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.


 Substitutions  
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame


 Keep in Mind  
  1. Always read labels! Product ingredients can change without notice. Do not assume a recipe or product is safe for you. Contact manufacturers to confirm safety for your allergy needs.
  2. A check in a box on a recipe means you can make a recipe "free of" that allergen.  You may need to use a substitution or alternative product to make that recipe safe for the allergies you are managing.
  3. If you need assistance with a recipe or ingredient substitution, post on our Food & Cooking support forums. You will receive personal help to alter a recipe to make it allergy-free for your child’s needs.
  4. You are welcome to link to our recipes.  If you would like to publish our recipes elsewhere in print or online, please contact us for permission.

Comments (0)

Add comment